Ruby reporting on Roy Hargrove in Ischia

hanging in Ischia

Roy Hargrove meets Ruby in Ischia

We’ve been here in Ischia (Italy) for the past six days and it has been really a great trip! Yesterday was my birthday, I’m 2 years old now, which means I’m actually 14 in human years. The folks here had a birthday party for me last night, and it sure was fun. Got lots of dog biscuits and a birthday cake too. The Allan Harris Band sang me Happy Birthday during their show which made all the other dogs envious, I could tell…especially this dog named Du Du…(isn’t that a Sting song???)

Any way, reporting on music: Our first night in town I was happy to be invited to see Roy Hargrove and his quintet. Man they really were swinging that night, Roy plays a mean trumpet. The restaurant was this cool location about 10 miles from where we’re staying so we took a taxi. I love riding in the car with my head hanging out the window. When we arrived we were ushered downstairs and into this huge restaurant built underground with one whole wall of mirrors. We stayed for the first show (even though Allan and Pat were really jet lagged). Our drummer, Jerome Jennings, sat in and boy did he kick butt. The audience went wild and then we left to get a good night’s sleep. It’s been a fantastic trip … music, food, people. Oh yeah and I’ve really got my swimming stroke down now. This is my second year of practice!

3 Responses to “Ruby reporting on Roy Hargrove in Ischia”

  1. Ruby, you’re the dog’s “meow”! (Ooops a felinian slip).Sparky say’s howdy and is brown with envy.He lives vicariously through you. Remember the “little poochies”. You are the canine “Samantha Brown”!Ciao Baaaby!

    • hey there Mr. Choate…i can’t wait to come to San Angelo to see you next week. Tell Sparky to get ready for some fun!

    • Hi Cowboy!
      You know I love talkin’ to a real life cowboy! It was so much fun staying with you and Sparky is one of my best pals…he lets me do whatever I want, like escape out his doggie door and run the streets of San Angelo! I feel kind of bad that y’all had to go lookin’ for me but hey a girl’s gotta have some wild street fun sometime! Speaking of Samantha Brown isn’t she an acquaintance of yours ???? I seem to recall seeing a photo of you and her at the Lenox Lounge here in Harlem. We are hoping you’ll come visit us soon and bring that fun-lovin’ wife of yours Cathy! She’s pretty cool too!!!

Leave a comment