Chick Corea in Ischia

on top of a piano, Chick Corea and Ruby

So cool hanging with Chick Corea in Ischia

One of my biggest thrills this summer was meeting Chick Corea. He is such a great artist, and humanitarian (he’s pretty crazy about dogs too!) After breakfast one morning he took some time out to be photographed with me on top of a piano (pretty cool, huh?) I was a little worried about scratching it up with my paws (I needed a manicure truth be told). But, I saw all three of his performances while we were in Ischia. The last night he played with Roy Haynes (drums) and Miroslav Vitous (bass) and the power went out in the middle of the 2nd song. They just kept on playing, in fact Roy Haynes took a beautiful drum solo that was made more spectacular because of the darkness. The audience loved it … and the power did eventually come back on. Chick seemed pretty calm in the face of it all. That’s why audiences love him the world over. Summer’s over now, I really enjoyed swimming in the Mediterannean (check out the photos on my facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=5042447&id=617353019&ref=fbx_album)

Leave a comment